The Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area (Greater Bay Area) comprises the two Special Administrative Regions of Hong Kong and Macao, and the nine municipalities of Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai, Foshan, Huizhou, Dongguan, Zhongshan, Jiangmen and Zhaoqing in Guangdong Province. The total area is 56 km2 and the total population is around 70 million as at end 2017.

The development of the Greater Bay Area is accorded the status of key strategic planning in the country's development blueprint, having great significance in the country's implementation of innovation-driven development and commitment to reform and opening-up. The objectives are to further deepen cooperation amongst Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao, fully leverage the composite advantages of the three places, facilitate in-depth integration within the region, and promote coordinated regional economic development, with a view to developing an international first-class bay area ideal for living, working and travelling.

On 1 July 2017, witnessed by President Xi Jinping, the National Development and Reform Commission and the governments of Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao signed the Framework Agreement on Deepening Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Cooperation in the Development of the Greater Bay Area in Hong Kong. The Framework Agreement sets out the goals and principles of cooperation and establishes the key cooperation areas in the development of the Greater Bay Area. Since then, the relevant Central Government departments and the three governments have strived for policy breakthroughs with an innovative and open mind in taking forward the development of the Greater Bay Area jointly.

Being the most open and international city in the Greater Bay Area, Hong Kong is known for its status as international financial, transportation, trade centres and aviation hub as well as its renowned professional services. Enjoying the dual advantages of "one country, two systems", Hong Kong plays an important role in the Greater Bay Area Development. On the one hand, Hong Kong will facilitate and support the economic development of the region, with a view to enhancing the role and functions of the Greater Bay Area in the country’s two-way opening up; on the other hand, we will facilitate the development of industries in which Hong Kong’s strengths lie in the Greater Bay Area, capitalising on Hong Kong’s strengths to serve the country's needs.

The Steering Committee for the Development of the Greater Bay Area, chaired by Chief Executive Mrs Carrie Lam and comprising all Secretaries of Department and Directors of Bureau as members, is responsible for the overall co-ordination of matters relating to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region's (SAR) participation in the development of the Greater Bay Area. The Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Bureau will also set up a Greater Bay Area Development Office and appoint a Commissioner for the Development of the Greater Bay Area to implement the relevant work. These include: developing an international innovation and technology hub; facilitating the development of industries in which Hong Kong enjoys strengths into the Greater Bay Area; and through policy innovation and breakthroughs as well as facilitation measures for Hong Kong residents studying, working and living in the Greater Bay Area, fostering the flow of people, goods, capital and information and improving the overall connectivity of the Greater Bay Area under the principle of "one country, two systems".

The promulgation of the Outline Development Plan for the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area on 18 February 2019 signified a new milestone in the development of the Greater Bay Area. With the full support of the Central Government, the Hong Kong SAR will proactively integrate into the overall national development, thereby expanding our scope of development and generating new impetus for growth to bring new development opportunities to different sectors of the community, especially our young people.

粤港澳大湾区(大湾区)包括香港、澳门两个特别行政区,和广东省广州、深圳、珠海、佛山、惠州、东莞、中山、江门、肇庆九市,总面积 5.6 万平方公里, 2017 年底总人口约 7000 万。

粤港澳大湾区建设是新时代国家改革开放下的重大发展战略,对国家实施创新驱动发展和坚持改革开放肩负重大意义。目标是进一步深化粤港澳合作,充分发挥三地综合优势,促成区内的深度融合,推动区域经济协同发展,建设宜居、宜业、宜游的国际一流湾区。

2017年7月1日,在国家主席习近平的见证下,国家发展和改革委员会与粤港澳三地政府在香港共同签署《深化粤港澳合作 推进大湾区建设框架协议》,为大湾区建设订下合作目标和原则,亦确立合作的重点领域。中央相关部委和三地政府一直以创新开放的思维寻求政策突破,共同推进粤港澳大湾区发展。

香港作为大湾区内高度开放和国际化的城市,是国际金融、航运、贸易中心和航空枢纽,专业服务享誉全球,加上「一国两制」的双重优势,在大湾区建设担当重要角色,一方面促进和支持区内经济发展,提升大湾区在国家双向发展中的角色和功能,同时便利香港优势产业在大湾区的发展,以香港所长,服务国家所需。

由行政长官林郑月娥出任主席、成员包括所有司局长的「粤港澳大湾区建设督导委员会」,全面统筹香港参与大湾区建设的事宜;政制及内地事务局亦将设立粤港澳大湾区发展办公室,并委任粤港澳大湾区发展专员落实有关工作。重点包括:建设国际科技创新中心、便利香港优势产业落户大湾区,以及通过政策创新突破和便利香港居民在大湾区学习、就业和生活的措施,在「一国两制」的原则下,促进人流、物流、资金流、信息流,加强大湾区内城市互联互通。

国家於2019年2月18日正式公布《粤港澳大湾区发展规划纲要》,标志著大湾区建设迈上新台阶。在中央的大力支持下,香港特区会更加积极主动融入国家发展大局,从而开拓发展新空间、增添发展新动力,为香港社会各界,特别是年轻人,带来发展新机遇。